Our network


Marietta Native to Star in Starr's Mill Play

Professional actress and Marietta native, Kayce Grogan-Wallace, who teaches theatre at Marietta Middle School, is going back to high school this fall—Starr’s Mill High School, to be exact—as a cast member in the Fayette County school’s production of the wildly popular Broadway musical “Hairspray.”

Set in 1962, “Hairspray,” which won eight Tony Awards in 2003, tells the story of the pleasantly plump Baltimore teen Tracy Turnblad, whose greatest desire is to dance on the popular “Corny Collins Show.” When her dream comes true, Tracy is transformed from social outcast to sudden star, but she must use her newfound power to vanquish the reigning teen queen, win the affections of heartthrob Link Larkin and integrate a TV network—all without denting her hairdo.

2011 National Achievement Scholarship Finalists

The number of Fayette’s semifinalists in the 2011 National Achievement Scholarship Program has increased 150 percent over last year.

Onyekwere Eke and Linsey Jackson, of Fayette County High; Seyi Amosu and Elana Burton, of Starr’s Mill High; Kevone Hospedales, of Whitewater High; and Camara Carter and Alaisha Wellons, both of Sandy Creek High, were selected from more than 160,000 students, from across the United States, when they took the 2009 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) as high school juniors.

Nine Semifinalists Named in Scholarship Program

Students from McIntosh, Sandy Creek and Starr’s Mill high schools are among the 400 statewide selected as semifinalists in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Nationally, there are about 16,000 semifinalists who are competing in the 56th annual scholarship program. The 2011 semifinalists are (McIntosh High) Erika Burgess, Mary Cook, Matthew Dawson, Kathleen Newman, Robert Worley, Shiyi Zhang; (Sandy Creek) Poonim Daya; (Starr’s Mill High) Graham Bloomsmith, Justin Buchanan.

These high school seniors, who have all achieved at a high scholastic level, will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,400 Merit Scholarship awards worth more than $36 million and will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements and advance to the finalist level of the competition.

SCHS Receives Sportsmanship Award

The Georgia High School Association (GHSA) and Georgia Electric Membership Corporation (GEMC) announced that Sandy Creek High is one of 38 GHSA-member high schools that will receive the 2010 Georgia EMC Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award honoring exemplary sportsmanship demonstrated during the 2009-2010 school year.

Up to 40 awards are presented each year, one for each of the five classifications within GHSA’s eight regions. Selected by GHSA region secretaries, the awards honor not only sportsmanship demonstrated by athletes, but also by fellow students, coaches, and spectators, making the award a tribute to the entire school community.

Representatives from the EMCs will present sportsmanship trophies to winning high schools within their service territories at presentations during fall athletic events.

Courtesy of Fayette County Board of Education