Our network

31 Ga. schools eligible for AP funding | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

31 Ga. schools eligible for AP funding
31 Ga. schools eligible for AP funding

ATLANTA -- More than 30 high schools in Georgia have been chosen to apply for funding for the new AP STEM Access program, the Georgia Department of Education announced Wednesday.

The program was created to increase the numbers of girls and minorities who take Advanced Placement STEM courses.

"I couldn't be more thrilled to see this many Georgia high schools selected to expand access to Advanced Placement courses," Superintendent Dr. John Barge said in a statement. "Having more access for our students to take courses in the STEM fields will help us meet students' needs and the expectations of colleges and employers. I encourage all of these schools to apply so more students have this access."

More than 800 U.S. high schools were selected to apply for the AP STEM Access program, which will begin in the fall of 2013 and offer STEM AP courses for at least three school years.

Georgia's eligible AP STEM Access schools include:

Atlanta Public Schools
Grady HS

Bryan County
Richmond Hill HS

Chatham County
Savannah Arts Academy

Cherokee County
Creekview HS
Etowah HS
River Ridge HS
Sequoyah HS
Woodstock HS

Clarke County
Clarke Central HS

Cobb County
Campbell HS
Lassiter HS
Pope HS

Columbia County
Greenbrier HS

Coweta County
Northgate HS

Decatur City Schools
Decatur HS

Douglas County
Douglas County HS

Fayette County
McIntosh HS
Starr's Mill HS
Whitewater HS

Forsyth County
West Forsyth HS

Fulton County
North Springs HS
Riverwood International Charter School
Westlake HS

Gwinnett County
Berkmar HS
Duluth HS
Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science and Technology
Mill Creek HS
Mountain View HS
Shiloh HS

Oconee County
Oconee County HS

Rockdale County
Rockdale County HS