Our network

2011 National Achievement Scholarship Finalists | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

2011 National Achievement Scholarship Finalists

The number of Fayette’s semifinalists in the 2011 National Achievement Scholarship Program has increased 150 percent over last year.

Onyekwere Eke and Linsey Jackson, of Fayette County High; Seyi Amosu and Elana Burton, of Starr’s Mill High; Kevone Hospedales, of Whitewater High; and Camara Carter and Alaisha Wellons, both of Sandy Creek High, were selected from more than 160,000 students, from across the United States, when they took the 2009 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) as high school juniors.

To advance to the finalist level, semifinalists must present a record of high academic performance throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the school principal, earn SAT scores that confirm the PSAT/NMSQT performance, and write an essay. The semifinalist and a school official must also complete a scholarship application in which they provide information about the student’s participation in school, and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities and educational goals.

Approximately 1,300 semifinalists are expected to advance to the finalist level in the 2011 program. Every finalist will compete for one of 700 one-time National Achievement $2,500 scholarships as well as 100 Achievement Scholarship awards underwritten by corporate and business sponsors for those who meet criteria set by the grantor.